Back to Joy-Division

Joy Division – Gruftgesaenge ( Live Paradiso 11-1-80 )



Joy Division – Gruftgesaenge ( Live Paradiso 11-1-80 )

A1 Passover
A2 Wilderness
A3 Digital
A4 Day Of The Lords
A5 Insight
A6 New Dawn Fades
A7 Disorder
B1 Transmission
B2 Love Will Tear Us Apart
B3 These Days
B4 A Means To An End
B5 24 Hours
B6 Shadowplay
C1 She’s Lost Control
C2 Atrocity Exhibition
C3 Atmosphere
C4 Dead Souls
C5 Komakino
D1 Incubation P.1
D2 Incubation P.2
D3 Digital
D4 Glass
D5 Komakino
D6 Incubation 1&2
Companies, etc.
Recorded At – Paradiso Amsterdam
This is the original first release from the original pressing plates. Because of this it DOES contain Shadowplay as track six on side B. All re-issues were pressed by the manufacturing company without the knowledge of the original bootlegger. The original pressing plates were either lost or damaged and almost all reissues except a later confirmed clear vinyl version failed to include Track 6 on Side B – “Shadowplay”. This first release is known to sound more powerful with more bass fidelity. A later generation re-recording was likely used in the manufacture of all re-issues that did not include Shadowplay.

This first release pressed on black vinyl.

Labels are blank white with either no writing or hand written labels in German.

Matrix run-off etchings on first edition contain hyphens (Re-issues do not). Sides 1 and 4 are stamped, sides 2 and 3 are hand written.

This first release came in two cover variants:

Version 1: Non glossy cover with a black stripe along the bottom of the front cover and a maximum price notice with a dedication to “Ertl” on the on back cover. (This cover is unique to the first vinyl pressing.)

Version 2: Glossy cover with a black stripe along the bottom of the front cover. There is no maximum price notice and no dedication to “Ertl” on the on back cover. (This cover is the same as that used for the first re-issue from the same manufacturer, but the vinyl in this case is still this same black first pressing.)

Side A and B plus tracks C1 and C2 Live: Paradiso, Amsterdam January 11 1980.
Tracks C3 and C4 from the “Licht Und Blindheit” single.
Tracks C5, D1, D2 and D5-D6 from the “Komakino” flexi.
“Incubation 1” = “Incubation P.1” = “Incubation”
“Incubation 2” = “Incubation P.2” = “As you said”
Tracks D3 and D4 are from “A Factory Sample”.

C1 misspelled She’s Lost Kontrol.
Barcode and Other Identifiers
Matrix / Runout: JD-1
Matrix / Runout: JD-2
Matrix / Runout: JD-3
Matrix / Runout: JD-4